Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (22) - TV Shows (3)

Leaving the shadows

Posted : 7 years, 4 months ago on 19 June 2010 04:53 (A review of A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints)

How much time allotted to us to life? What we should do in this life good to remember our long journey for many, not dissolved in this world, but remained in people's minds, like one tiny letters, but an interesting one page long book. The question being, a matter of time, attitude of everyone who walks on this earth. Everyone chooses their own way, which is already too late to do it. Correct this way, or not, decides the man himself. The man - vehicle of hope, an individual, not like the others, is always different. We choose how to achieve victory. We have met their needs, interests and tastes. We are looking at the stars, literally from the bottom, and marveled their wondrous beauty. "My God, how beautiful" - we say. "Is there life on these small, emitting glitter points?". We have a sense in which the principal place of our actions. Feelings that can attract the good, and repel bad. Love and hate.

Love? What a great word love. When you hear it, you want almost immediately to say something, but most often, my throat is dry, and the man falls into a reverie. "Whom do I love? Those who gave me life "- that's what I think will answer all of you in the first place. The people who created you. People who were happy with your first steps and first achievements ... Parents. They are all.

The young and very rowdy-dowdy boy named Dito, a small, but quite a criminal district of New York. He did not particularly different from all the people. But on that it wants to stop the view in the picture, which shows us the director. Dito, just as we all have parents, has friends, girlfriend, pocket money. What else is needed for happiness usual, does not pretend to something more teens? Responsibility for all those around Dito very developed within it. He knows what is friendship, family, relatives. But life is very tricky and unpredictable, you never know what is expected of her to wait ...

Feelings Dito, throughout the action, begin to fade, somewhere to disappear, disappear. The number of problems, which in life is unavoidable, cover very much, that he acquired over the years. Something dies inside him, something is born. But until the last frame of this little life fit into a hundred minutes, showed us inside the viewer will burn the hope, that extinguished flame inside Dito, will light up again. Ogonek, whose name - conscience. Ogonyok, once extinct, can be more effort to try to light again, great effort, heart and soul.

This realistic, sensual and saturated with a lot of sense the story gave us Dito Montel. This story is about him. About the fact that he survived. The history that survived by his parents, friends. People who themselves have experienced action and which reproduce them in his own movie, does better than anyone else can show them. With every minute the story deeper and deeper takes the viewer into the depths. Montel does not try to bring the usual things with sharp editing, effects, music. It is quite out of place.

The film is imbued with feelings, emotions, feelings. These are the main components of the story which can teach each of us something new, perhaps not yet clear. Open your eyes to the core values in our lives. Help never falter from the mistakes of others, and assimilate them, and try to remember never to commit.

Who in our lives parents? Perhaps this question Dito Montel raises a fundamental question in the film. It is easy, and most importantly affordable way trying to convey the relationship between parents and children. Show that it is in childhood, we make many mistakes, as always somewhere in a hurry. A lot do not know much want to get, but nothing to lose. Childhood - the most expressive phase of human life. It is the easiest, most peaceful, happy, carefree. But even as a child, you can destroy something you do not forgive himself until the very end of his life.

Throw yourself, throw their relatives. At an early age to close their eyes to the many unresolved problems, conflicts, disputes, disagreements. Running much looking eyes. Running to find peace, and create a permanent concern and anguish to his parents. Parents who from the very beginning of your life together with you built from tiny actions, decisions and wishes of a small ship. The ship on which they once wanted to imprison you, and let go with the longest river, full of adventure, love and happiness. River, which is called life. That rough, then quiet. And the dirty and clean.

And God forbid, all of us, dare to throw their loved ones, away for a long time in the shade, and only after many years, to hear the telephone is painfully familiar, quiet, and very excited voice:

"Hello dear. You do not know? That's me. Your mom ... "


0 comments, Reply to this entry

What is your Deepest Fear?

Posted : 7 years, 4 months ago on 19 June 2010 04:42 (A review of Coach Carter)

Human - an amazing creature. Nature, he has the ability to love, to suffer mentally, to think ... In fact, it's those inner qualities that distinguish an individual as an independent individual, distinguished it from the animal. But despite its ability to attain the highest mental acts and manifestations of generalized feelings, each one of us sometimes, signs of animal nature, which, as it turned out, was not completely lost during evolution. In addition to the weakest, simple behavioral responses and motor acts called instincts of animals and humans have got such a phenomenon as fear.

This is not about global terror which is not ashamed to admit it to others. And not even about the individual problems that beset the person depending on the level of his psychological stability: whether it's fear of the dark, closed spaces, loneliness or something else. The point here is quite another - in the inner fear, which admit even to himself is terribly difficult, because of the irreversibility of the consequences of this action. We keep this fear in the deepest corners of the soul in the hope that by doing so they buried, and the cause of fear, but how embarrassing thrown a boomerang, comes back again and again to impress us in the heart and the wound even deeper.

Panic fear of his own existence at a certain stage of life leaves a significant imprint on the future of the individual. Particularly clearly seen in the teens, when combined with the knowledge of complete independence in decision-making, comes the fear of a fatal error. The man asks himself many questions, among which the most frequently appears "as if I should not have done that did just that and not another?" Correctly chose the direction of its future work, and I was not wrong in choosing a future profession? Is my world? Is the outlook on life, on relationships with other people? Is it right to reject the help of relatives and loved ones? Is constantly asking myself all these damn questions? ..

This stage of total doubt gradually passes, but behind it inevitably comes next - "panic phase of misunderstanding. And here are already on a completely different type of thinking - "but what can I do if I am wrong? "Surely now I will destroy their future, so really not begun to live? Why everything is so complicated? Why me? What did I do that now so much suffering.

Nagging pessimism in the spirit of "no choice" suggests itself. This is not surprising - teen psyche is very vulnerable during puberty. The main problem is how you can help people not just desperate in itself, but a man who still is afraid of himself.

At first glance, the situation may seem quite hopeless. However, if this is certainly a complex life of identity formation, there are a such a loyal assistant as coach Carter, who not only gets to you best friend, but he knows the answers to all questions of concern, the problem solved itself. Even if you see a complete loser not worthy of respect, he sees you are a man caught in their own views. If you believe that an impasse - he points out the right way. If you have any conflicts with others - it helps to find understanding. If you do not see the point in its existence - he'll kick this nonsense out of your head. It is not just a new coach, who came to teach basketball. He - the teacher who will lead you by the hand of school life.

The film is based on real events that occurred in the small town of Richmond, California. Coach Carter - inspired prototype of controversial basketball coach Ken Carter, who received both praise and harsh criticism after being hit in the news program on national television, for its system of training undefeated team on the principle of "indoor gym, with a total academic failure of team members . He came in the middle of the season, when Richmond "Oilers" dangling in the wake of the championship and set a task to bring the team to the top line.

From the first day of training, Ken Carter made it clear the guys was not going to joke with them and established a strict regime within the sports community. But the innovation does not end with - each player has signed with the coach's first viable contract in which it promised to have an average rating of achievement enough for college. By this gesture coach wanted to show that puts the school in the first place, and basketball devotes much less significant role in the life of the children. All is good, but I have only this decision led to a chain of scandals and threats to the head coach, despite the fact that the team demonstrated a high level of play and showed successful results in excess of ...

Well, it would seem - sports drama. What new can we expect from films of this genre? What we have already seen them and the same time convinced that they all look alike as two drops of water: if it's football, the main character always amazes gate opponent hit a pair of scissors by themselves; baseball - Be prepared to see a gorgeous shot bat verified beyond two-tiered stadium, rugby - in the final ball is a ribbon after a complicated dvuhhodovki performed by the player loses the team, basketball - three-pointers shoot incredible accuracy - and you are the winner is ... The list goes on, but annoying, is not it? Sometimes it seems that the parsimony of the storyline of these projects is killing all the intrigue of the painting. After several hits, such a pattern starts pretty annoying with all my heart and want to at least somewhere to stumble upon her absence. So, in this film it and not see.

"Coach Carter" deftly away from the stereotypical perception of the genre, thus emphasizing its dualism: on the one hand we have a picture of a pronounced sporting intent, but at the same time, more and more notice of her elements of a psychological drama in which the basketball is not in favor the main theme of the narrative, but only a beautiful backdrop. Here, in the first place, the slope is not on achieving the goals the team sports, but attempts to map each of its participants to find their place in life. They were like before live day by day, doing at school and on the court, communicating with friends and family, attending parties and discos, but now increasingly faced with challenges and difficulties of adult life. There is first a need and the first disappointment, the first argument and the first pain, which in general, and generate the same fear, the existence of which are afraid to admit.

Not even young boys, driven by this fear, sometimes commit the most stupid actions that lead them either to jail or the grave. At the same time, rejecting any assistance from relatives of people with absolute certainty they are going to be a risk with a bullet in his forehead after the next street skirmish, or live their lives in poverty, instead of seriously thinking about your education. Beyond paradoxical, but, unfortunately, true. And so it was here that shows all the importance and value of who man is able to become to others. He is not just the thought forms and further outlook, but also sends the right direction, eliminating the difficulties and troubles, giving with the hope and life purpose. Neither more nor less, but that this is the determining factor in human development.

More about what I would like to talk, so this is, of course, about the sport. Despite the fact that "Coach Carter" is under a very strong psychological basis, it does not prevent him to please the audience very well supplied equipment for basketball matches. Luggage successfully followed every movement of players, giving the picture at high speed. This creates the effect of full presence at the match. At some time you can even forget that film look, and not a regular sports highlights, so good shows these minute insertion. Basketball and the daily lives of the characters are interwoven in the movie like two thin threads, thus forming a bundle fate of each character individually. This is not a clever technique film gathers a wide audience - fans of sports will find a decent set game of confrontation, but what the average viewer plenty to enjoy a wonderful storyline.

Casting for the project was more than successful. Sam Jackson is currently played probably his best role in his career. With subtle facial expressions, gestures and calibrated skilfully high professional skills, he created a unique image of an ambitious, strong and at the same time, vulnerability sports coach, who, despite the fact that he always does good work, certainly faces a lack of understanding by others . Putting derailed his name and reputation, he helps the boys find themselves in this complex world, for what ever gets their loyalty and trust. At first glance it may seem that Jackson's on the screen too much. But in fact, to reveal his full presonages the audience, time period perfectly verified, in fact the hero of Sam and serves a key figure in the narrative. It determines further action guys.

Pleased and youth groups: Channing Tatum, Robert Richard, Rick Gonzales, Ashanti, Rob Brown ... Many people had written these actors in the new one wave of "American cinema. Over the shoulder of each of them had already accumulated considerable list of works, and enchanting debut last of the company's film, Van Sant's "Find Forrester" can lay claim to being one of the most successful launches in the history of modern cinema. It is very pleasant to observe the process of becoming future stars, because soon they may begin to sparkle like precious jewels, dazzling spectators brilliance of his game, but we can feel confident to say that once witnessed during their ascent ...

In summary, I want to emphasize the importance of the film not only in the cinematography, but the fact how much impact it can have on the viewer. "Coach Carter" makes digging in itself, is pushing for a bold decision to properly meet the inner fear, to understand its essence. What we fear most? His inconsistency or its excessive force? We are scared our brilliance or our darkness? Being a small and modest is not the most noble role, agree. Nullity of anyone not satisfied even if it is comfortable around. We want blestat and flash, not just some of us, but everything and everyone. And we learn to live, we unconsciously prompted by others. When we ourselves are freed from their fears - we automatically liberates others ... So, watch this wonderful movie and free themselves from inner fear, give him a worthy rebuff. And, I guarantee you will not regret the time spent.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I pine, I perish

Posted : 7 years, 5 months ago on 9 May 2010 08:39 (A review of 10 Things I Hate About You)

Maybe you find yourself blind and deaf brake, which brings you to the movies?
History as old as the world!
She - too proud, too serious, independent and not going with anybody to run. She nobody likes, but it seems it is not necessary. She does not favor boys because they do not favor it.
He - egoist, rude and very arrogant. He was a loner, selfish, and absolutely in no one does not need.
But all of this until a certain time. They are similar, is not it?
From hatred to love one step.
This step and to go to the heroes of Julia Stiles and Heath Ledger.
As always, all under the law of the genre - a girl who does not notice the guy and the guy whose vanity instantly piqued, it was here that he realizes how much she cared about.
"Neither before nor after - I hasten to note. "Better late than never" - will answer you, and also be right.
On screen, moved that happened, happens and will happen to many of us. Love this, what it happens. And probably nowhere on it does not go.
Someone will remember their school and college years, and someone will look anticipating that such a story may soon happen to him.
For me, this movie is not "a guide to action, not just a movie for boring pastime, and the memory - the memory of a wonderful actor hit Ledger, who left us too soon.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love - is the height

Posted : 7 years, 5 months ago on 9 May 2010 08:36 (A review of Candy)

The next time I will say that I do not like drama and watch them very often ... But then again I admit that this genre often conceals an abyss of reality, meaning and causes reflection. And "Candy" is just one of those movies.

Films about drug addicts is not uncommon and there can recall a lot of examples, ranging from the comedy "Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle" and ending with the drama "Requiem for a Dream." And "Candy" is just very similar to the well-known film directed by Darren Aronofsky. "Candy" - it is also a film-warning, the film that shows the whole world of drugs and makes the viewer think again: And it do I need?

In the picture is the correct structure - it is divided into parts, but with the strict separation as such no, but the word "Paradise", "Land", "Hell" delimiting the story very clearly describe the state of the main characters of the film and what happens to them.

The picture is very real - watched the movie and sometimes it seemed that he looked in your own mirror, looking at what is happening in the streets, Bardel, parks, watching the passers-by and looked inside the characters into human nature, about how much he could fall and how unbearably hard for him to get out ... And in this incredible achievement actors, a brilliant duo Heath Ledger and Abbie Cornish. They both re-created this world (which is re-created, not created, because of this empathy to the role I do not often see on the screen), they discovered his audience in all its emptiness, darkness and fear ...

The result: an incredibly impressive acting, an incredibly real world of characters in the movie and an incredibly impressive film.

10 of 10

- When you stop - you do not want when you want to stop - you can not ...


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dear John review

Posted : 7 years, 5 months ago on 9 May 2010 08:27 (A review of Dear John)

The movie "Dear John" - is another love story, told in simple words. " Often, it is simplicity, and the author's position, which does not interfere in what is happening, but seemed to just watch the story of the most in charge of the soul.

Remove a really good movie about love is very difficult: it is important not to slip on the one hand, the commonplace, and on the other - in the edification. This delicate balance remarkably managed to find and Nicholas Sparks, author of "The Notebook" and the well-known director Lasse Hallstremu. That's probably why the film looks at one go. Along with the love line, it is clearly traced another - the relationship between fathers and sons and the impression that they can impose sometimes for life. After all, every one of us, being a child of his parents, he eventually becomes a parent.

Do not think "Dear John" another reckless and weepy melodrama only because the film was shot in America. The American film industry has repeatedly proved his versatility by producing a rental rather unexpected movies, do not pretend to box office success, but, nevertheless, continued to merit. After all, simple human feelings and difficult human relationships - a topic that will interest the audience always, unlike chases and special effects, never get bored. There is no doubt and the quality of the film. it makes you realize how fragile happiness can be as hard for him to stay, when it gets to your hands.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2 3Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block